ICW Group mySafetyNews.com
Printed from www.mysafetynews.com - Your Risk Management Resource
Home > All categories, General, OSHA, Safety training, Workplace safety > Nevada Construction Workers – Are your OSHA 10 or 30-Hour Cards Current?

Risk management blog

Nevada Construction Workers – Are your OSHA 10 or 30-Hour Cards Current?

- April 1, 2013 by Guest Bloggers (View all posts by Guest)

Are you a Nevada contractor whose employees are required to have an OSHA 10 or 30-hour Construction Card?

If so, remember that those cards expire five years after the date they were issued. Employees can renew their cards by completing an OSHA 10-hour course or OSHA 30-hour as applicable with the previous 5 years. Another option is providing satisfactory proof that they have completed continuing education within the previous 5 years consisting of job specific training that meets the Division of Industrial Relations in the amount of:

• For a completion card issued for an OSHA 10-hour course, not less than 5 hours
• For a completion card issued for an OSHA 30-hour course, not less than 15 hours.

Approved continuing education courses must include the following topics:

• Introduction to OSHA
• Fall Protection
• Electrocution
• Struck by, and Caught In Hazards

NOTE: Each course must be completed within six months of its start date.
So who may provide continuing education?

• An OSHA authorized trainer who has completed the necessary training and has the trainer card that reflects authorization.
• A qualified continuing education trainer: this is a person with three years overseeing occupational safety and health in the construction field.
• A person with two years overseeing occupational safety and health in the construction field and has a college degree in occupational health and is a Certified Safety Professional (CSP), or a Certified Industrial Hygienist (CIH).

After completing a continuing education course the employees will be issued a wallet card by the OSHA 10/30 continuing education trainer as they did upon completing their initial training.
Remember, in Nevada,  if a construction employee is found not having a valid OSHA 10 or 30-hour card, YOU, as the employer, are subject to the following penalties:

• First violation, a fine up to $500
• Second violation, a fine up to $1,000
• Third violation, and each subsequent violation is considered a willful violation and can result in fines up to $70,000, but not less than $5,000.

For more information on the training requirements, or for a list of authorized trainers visit www.nv1030.org.